07
Dec
09

But Everyone Will Play a Jedi?

I decided to do a little experiment to see if I could gauge the popularity of the various classes in Star Wars The Old Republic. Since the game isn’t out yet, no one has rolled their class, but many people already have an idea of what they want to be. I know I do.

BioWare already has class specific forums on their site for people interested in that particular class to discuss it. I wondered if there might be a correlation between the activity of a Class Board relative to another Class Board and the popularity of that class in the game.

What I found was interesting.

The Jedi Consular and Sith Inquisitor have the least number of postings, but these forums just opened so it’s obvious they will lag behind the other forums a bit. Both the Consular and Inquisitor forums show about the same number of threads in then.

The most popular forum isn’t a Jedi forum at all; it’s the Bounty Hunter forum. After the Bounty Hunter the next most popular forum is the Sith Warrior followed by the Republic Trooper. Even the Smuggler forum is more popular than the Jedi Knight. So maybe not EVERYBODY is going to roll a Jedi after all.

I think what would concern me if I was BioWare is the relative quietness of the Imperial Agent forum. The Consular and Inquisitor forums already have nearly half as many threads despite being opened for only a short period of time.

Now of course this is far from scientific and people can post in multiple forums but I do think the general level of activity in the Class Forum may provide an insight into its overall popularity.

1 Response to “But Everyone Will Play a Jedi?”


  1. December 8, 2009 at 12:00 am

    I think part of the problem, especially if you played SWG after the NGE, is that everyone rolled a Jedi. And in most Star Wars games, you can be some type of Jedi. So I think people are really looking forward to just doing something different. I also think you’ll see A LOT of Sith running around.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

