04
Sep
09

Fan Boy

So why would a guy start a blog about a game that isn’t even in Beta yet? Excitement is the only explanation.

It’s May of 1977. A young father takes his son into a movie theatre to watch the latest blockbuster. Little do either know that a lifelong love and passion is about to be born in that young boys heart.

That little boy was, of course, me. I was 4 and a half that fateful summer of 1977 when my Dad took me to see Star Wars. Nobody called it A New Hope as we do now to distinguish it from the other movies. I became a fan almost from the first frame, with the massive Star Destroyer coming through the screen.

Two hours later, I knew what I wanted to be when I grew up, a Jedi Knight, and a X-Wing pilot. Christmas and birthdays would be dominated by Hasbro and Kenner Star Wars toys. I’d save up my allowance and every two weeks, I’d have enough for another action figure.

I can quote entire scenes from the original trilogy, and you’ll often hear me inserting Star Wars quotes into normal conversations with friends.

I saw each of the ‘new’ trilogy in a midnight release, and even dressed up as Obi-Wan for Revenge of the Sith, complete with growing a beard for the full effect. I’ve been to Star Wars Weekend in Walt Disney World twice and had a blast every time.

Star Wars remains my favorite movies of all time, though I have a strong preference for the Original Trilogy over the newer films.

So yeah, you can mark me down as a card carrying member of the Star Wars Fan Club. (I might even have a membership card from ’78 around here somewhere.)

1 Response to “Fan Boy”


  1. 1 Kaanman36
    September 21, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Right there with ya man. This sounds almost like it could have been written by me.


Leave a Reply

